Regular Meeting - November 21, 2023

The Fairmont Board of Commissioners held their regular meeting on Tuesday, November 21, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. in the Fairmont Fire Hall with Mayor Charles Kemp presiding. Commissioners present were J.J. McCree, Terry Evans, Heather Seibles, Melvin Ellison, Clarence McNeill, Jr., and Jan Tedder-Rogers. Staff present included Town Manager Jerome Chestnut, Town Attorney Jessica Scott, Town Clerk Jenny Larson, Deputy Town Clerk Rodney Cain, Public Works Director Ronnie Seals, and Police Chief Jon Edwards. Others in attendance included Bishop H. B. Drake, Fairmont Farmers Festival queens, FHS Women's Tennis Team, FHS Youth Council, and several citizens.

Call to Order and Invocation

Mayor Charles Kemp called the meeting to order at 6:03 p.m. Bishop H. B. Drake, Pastor of Word of Life Church, gave the invocation, which was followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mayor Presentation

Mayor Kemp introduced the 2023-2024 Fairmont Farmers Festival Queens. They are Miss Abigail Britt, Teen Miss Taylor Bullock, Junior Miss Jahana Jones, Tiny Miss Kensley Rogers, Little Miss Oakley Britt, Wee Miss Jailee Hill, Mini Ambassador Presley Jackson, and Ambassador Avery Mace.

Mayor Kemp recognized the 2023 Fairmont High School Women's Tennis Team for their successful season.

Approval of Agenda

Town Manager Jerome Chestnut asked the board to remove the closed session from the agenda. Commissioner Evans made a motion to approve the agenda with the removal of closed session. Commissioner Seibles seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Public Comment Period/Citizens Appearance

There was no public comment this month.

Consent Agenda

Upon motion by Commissioner Tedder-Rogers and seconded by Commissioner Evans, it was unanimously voted to adopt the following consent agenda items:

a. Approval of Minutes – Regular Meeting, October 17, 2023

Signed copies of the minutes are hereby incorporated by reference and made a part of these minutes.

Old Business

There was no old business this month.

New Business

Appointment of Three Commissioners to future Town Hall Committee

During the 2023 Legislative Session, the General Assembly awarded the Town of Fairmont \$3.25 million for the construction of a new Town Hall.

The staff is requesting the appointment of three Commissioners to be actively involved in the study, design, and construction activities for the new Town Hall.

The selected Commissioners will be expected to serve as:

- <u>Stakeholders</u> who are readily available to contribute input for the study, design, and construction activities for the new Town Hall while meeting with consultants.
- <u>Liaisons</u> to serve between the Board of Commissioners and the citizens of Fairmont to ensure that citizens have input on the service delivery (drop box, drive-through, hours, access).
- Ambassadors to serve as site visit coordinators for access to the future site.

Other members of the committee will include the Town's Finance Officer, Police Chief, Public Works Director, Fire Chief, and Zoning Officer.

The Town Manager recommends that the Board of Commissioners appoint Commissioners Terry Evans, Melvin Ellison, and Jan Tedder-Rogers to the future Town Hall committee.

Commissioner Seibles made a motion to appoint Commissioners Terry Evans, Melvin Ellison, and Jan Tedder-Rogers to the future Town Hall committee. Commissioner McNeill seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Appointment of Three Commissioners to future Youth/Family Center Committee

The staff has recently identified a town facility that could be used as a Youth, Family, or Senior Center (or combination of all). The facility is located at 107 N. Morro Street, Fairmont, NC.

The staff is requesting the appointment of three Commissioners to be actively involved in the study, design, and renovation activities for a Youth/Family Center.

Page 3 – Regular Meeting, November 21, 2023

The selected Commissioners will be expected to serve as:

- <u>Stakeholders</u> who are readily available to contribute input for the study, design, and renovation activities for the new facility while meeting with consultants.
- <u>Liaisons</u> to serve between the Board of Commissioners and the citizens of Fairmont to ensure that citizens have input on the service delivery (activities, hours, staffing).
- Ambassadors to serve as site visit coordinators for access to the future site.

Other members of the committee will include the Town's Finance Officer, Police Chief, Public Works Director, Fire Chief, and Parks and Recreation Director.

The Town Manager recommends that the Board of Commissioners appoint Commissioners J.J. McCree, Clarence McNeill, and Heather Seibles to the future Youth/Family Center Committee.

Commissioner Evans made a motion to appoint Commissioners J.J. McCree, Clarence McNeill, and Heather Seibles to the future Youth/Family Center Committee. Commissioner Tedder-Rogers seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Commissioner Input

The commissioners thanked the citizens for coming to the meeting and voting in this month's election. They wished everyone a Happy Thanksgiving.

Mayor Input

Mayor Kemp congratulated Commissioners J.J. McCree, Heather Seibles, and Jan Tedder-Rogers on their recent reelection to the board.

Mayor Kemp announced he reappointed Janie McFarland to the Fairmont Housing Authority Board.

Mayor Kemp invited everyone to the Holiday on Main Twilight Christmas Parade on December 1. Rachel Sealy will be the grand marshal.

Announcements

Wednesday, November 22 – Friday, November 24 – Town offices closed in observance of Thanksgiving.

Friday, December 1 – Annual Holiday on Main Christmas Event with tree lighting at 6:00 p.m., Twilight Parade at 6:30 p.m. and Entertainment in the Heritage Center at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 2 – Marietta Christmas Parade, 11:00 a.m.

Saturday, December 9 – Senior Bingo 12:00 noon to 2:00 p.m., Fire Hall

Page 4 – Regular Meeting, November 21, 2023

Saturday, December 9 – Fab-yule-us Holiday Craft Fair, 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Heritage Center.

Thursday, December 14 – Job Fair and Blood Drive, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., Heritage Center

Tuesday, December 19 – Town board meeting and swearing in of newly elected commissioners, 6:00 p.m., Heritage Center

Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Ellison made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:32 p.m. Commissioner Tedder-Rogers seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Jennifer H. Larson Town Clerk